As of 2023, it depends on your state of operations and state-level regulations require the following:
Alaska: Each licensee, employee, or agent of the marijuana establishment who sells, cultivates, manufactures, tests, or transports marijuana or a marijuana product, or who checks the identification of a consumer or visitor, must obtain a marijuana handler permit before being licensed or beginning employment at a marijuana establishment. Further, certified Marijuana Handlers must renew their license every 3 years (3 AAC 306.700).
Massachusetts: All Marijuana Establishment Agents that are involved in the handling or sale of Marijuana shall successfully complete the 4-Hour Responsible Vendor Training within 90 days of hire and every year thereafter (935 CMR 500/501).
Colorado: A person, Employee Licensee, manager, or Controlling Beneficial Owner may receive a “responsible vendor” designation" if training is completed within 90 days of hiring AND every 2-years thereafter. Note that Delivery and Hospitality licensees must complete additional curriculum as provided by the approved Delivery and Hospitality supplements, respectively (1 CCR 212-3)
Illinois: All owners, managers, employees, and agents involved in the handling or sale of cannabis or cannabis-infused products employed by an adult use dispensing organization or medical cannabis dispensing organization must complete their Responsible Vendor Training within 90 days employment AND every year thereafter (Section 10 of the Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Program Act).
Vermont: Two training programs are required in Vermont...
- General Employee Training: All employees of Cannabis Establishments must complete trainings within 60 days of hire and annually after that (Board Rule 2.2.5(b))
- Retail Employee Training: All customer-facing employees of retail Cannabis Establishments must complete trainings (Board Rule 2.2.5(c))